The role of genetic polymorphisms in the CS1 domain of aggrecan and the vitamin D3 receptor in the pathogenesis of intervetebral disc degeneration of the lubmar spine. Financed by - Polish Ministry of Science - Diamond Grand; Amount granted: 219,990 PLN; timeline: 2017-2020; PI: Przemysław A Pękala; No. DI2015 018245


The role of endplate calcification, nutritional vessel occlusion and proteins responsible for the elaboration of inorganic pyrophosphate in the pathogenesis of cervical disc degenerative disease.” Financed by – National Science Center Poland - Preludium grant; Amount granted: 99,970 PLN; Timeline: 2013-2015; PI: Dr. Krzysztof A. Tomaszewski; No. 2012/07/N/NZ5/00078





2016 - Research Award of the Polish Academy of Sciences – “Laur Medyczny im. Doktora Wacława Mayzla” (Dr. Wacława Mayzla Laureate in Medical Sciences) – For outstanding scientific achievements during medical studies by Brandon Michael Henry and Przemek Pekala.


2015 - Professor Mark Ziha Prize - Awarded to Dr. Krzysztof A. Tomaszewski by the Krakow Medical Association for outstanding scientific research progress and outstanding defense of his doctoral dissertation - Endplate calcification and cervical intervertebral disc degeneration - the role of endplate marrow contact channel occlusion, and proteins involved in inorganic phosphate metabolism.


2014 - Best Medical Case Report Presentation – “Mother and son diagnosed with Tick-borne Encephalitis transmitted by consumption of unpasteurized goat milk.” NEURONUS 2014 IBRO & IRUN Neuroscience Forum in Krakow, Poland


2014 - Best Basic Science Poster Award - Krzysztof A. Tomaszewski, Jerzy A. Walocha: "Pathogenesis of cervical degenerative disc disease - the role of ankyrin, ectoenzyme PC-1, osteopontin, vertebral ENDPLATE calcification and microvessel occlusion. 15th EFORT Congress, London, 4-6 June 2014.


2013 - Best Medical Case Report Presentation – Brandon Michael Henry: “First Bite Syndrome: A postoperative complication of cervical Vagal Schwannoma excision.” NEURONUS 2013 IBRO & IRUN Neuroscience Forum in Krakow, Poland.


2013 - Young Scientists Award - Elizabeth K. Peasant Iwona Z. Pena, M. Iwona Tomaszewska, Krzysztof A. Tomaszewski, Claudia Walocha, Matthew Pliczko, Anna Natkaniec, Martyn Gomulska, Jerzy A. Walocha: "Anatomical landmarks for the localization of the greater palatine foramen in Polish skulls. 31st Meeting of the Polish Anatomical Society, 27-30 June 2013.